Email subscription

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Reading campaign

Reading campaign

Every independent nation has its own flag, indicating that country is an independent country. The national flag of India is the tricolor, which is made up of three colors - saffron, white and green and in its center is the Ashoka Chakra made of blue. The Indian National Flag was designed by Pingali Venkayananda and adopted in its present form during the meeting of the Indian Constituent Assembly held on 22 July 1947.

This was done on 15 August 1947, just a few days before India's independence from the British. It was adopted as the national flag of India between 15 August 1947 and 26 January 1950 and was subsequently adopted by the Indian Republic. 'Tricolor' in India means the Indian national flag.

The Indian national flag has three horizontal stripes, saffron at the top, white at the middle and dark green at the bottom and all three are in proportion. The ratio of the width of the flag is 2 and 3 along its length. In the middle of the white stripe is a circle of dark blue. This cycle is built on the lion pillar of Sarnath of Ashoka's capital. Its diameter is approximately equal to the width of the white band and it has 24 spokes.

Importance of flag

It is very interesting to know what changes our national flag went through since its inception. It was discovered or recognized during our National War of Independence. The development of the Indian National Flag went through many visits to reach the present day form. Some historical milestones in the development of our national flag are as follows: -

The first national flag was hoisted on 7 August 1906 at Parsi Bagan Chowk (Green Park) Calcutta, now called Kolkata. This flag was made of horizontal strips of red, yellow and green.

The second flag was hoisted by Madame Cama in Paris and some revolutionaries deported with her in 1907 (according to some in 1905). It was also similar to the first flag except that it had only one lotus on the topmost strip but seven stars signify the Saptarishi. This flag was also displayed at the Socialist Conference held in Berlin.

About reading Ability

The third flag came in 1917 when our political struggle took a definite turn. Dr. Annie Besant and Lokmanya Tilak hoisted it during the domestic governance movement. This flag had 5 red and 4 green horizontal strips one after the other and seven stars made on it in the orientation of the Big Dipper. On the left and upper edge (towards the pillar) was the Union Jack. There was also a white crescent and star in one corner.

During the session of the All India Congress Committee which was done in Bejwada (now Vijayawada) in 1921, a young man from Andhra Pradesh made a flag and gave it to Gandhiji. It was made of two colors. The color red and green represents the two major communities ie Hindu and Muslim.

Gandhiji suggested that it should have a white stripe to represent the rest of India's community and a moving spinning wheel to indicate the progress of the nation.

The year 1931 is a memorable year in the history of the flag. A resolution was passed to adopt the Tricolor flag as our national flag. This flag, which is the ancestor of the present form, was saffron, white and with a spinning wheel in the middle by Gandhiji.

On 22 July 1947, the Constituent Assembly adopted it as the Free Indian National Flag. After independence, its colors and their importance remained. Emperor Ashoka's Dharma Chakra was shown only in place of the spinning wheel in the flag. Thus the tricolor flag of the Congress party eventually became the tricolor of independent India.

Colors of the National Flag: The upper strip of the national flag of India has a saffron color which shows the strength and courage of the country. The white stripe in the middle symbolizes peace and truth with the Dharma Chakra. The lower green stripe represents fertility, growth and the purity of the land.

Click here

બાયસેગ પ્રસારણ અને ઉપયોગી નોંધ માટે
Click here

Reading campaign Reading campaign Reviewed by Prem Dabhi on September 09, 2019 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.